Specific Claims Tribunal of Canada


Common menu bar links



On November 27, 2009 the Minister of Justice announced the appointment of three Federal Judges to constitute the interim Specific Claims Tribunal pursuant to the provisions of the Specific Claims Tribunal Act which came into force on October 16, 2008.
Justice Johanne Mainville of the Quebec Superior Court and Justice Patrick Smith of the Ontario Superior Court will form the Tribunal along with Justice Harry Slade of the British Columbia Supreme Court who has been named Tribunal Chair.

Justice Slade has indicated that the first task at hand for the Tribunal will be the development of the rules and procedural guidelines to ensure that claims are adjudicated expeditiously in a culturally sensitive manner.  As part of this activity Tribunal Members will be seeking input from a variety of stakeholders and interested parties.