Specific Claims Tribunal Canada

 

Welcome to the
Specific Claims Tribunal Canada

 

Through the coming into force of the Administrative Tribunals Support Service of Canada Act, on November 1, 2014, the Government of Canada is consolidating the provision of support services to eleven administrative tribunals – including the Specific Claims Tribunal Canada – into a single organization, the Administrative Tribunals Support Service of Canada (ATSSC).  This administrative change does not affect the mandate of the Specific Claims Tribunal. Case matters will continue to be filed, managed and safeguarded in accordance with existing Specific Claims Tribunal procedures.


 

The Specific Claims Tribunal, established on October 16, 2008, is  part of the Federal Government’s Justice at Last policy and  joint initiative with the Assembly of First Nations aimed at accelerating the resolution of specific claims in order to provide justice for First Nations claimants and certainty for government, industry and all Canadians.

For the first time in Canadian history First Nations will now have a choice to file a claim with the Tribunal - an independent adjudicative body comprised of up to 6 full time Federal judges appointed from Provincial Superior Courts across the country.

The term “specific claims” generally refers to monetary damage claims made by a First Nation against the Crown regarding the administration of land and other First Nation assets and to the fulfillment of Indian treaties that have not been accepted for negotiation or that have not been resolved through a negotiated settlement within a specified time frame.

This site contains information about the Specific Claims Tribunal, its Members, enabling legislation, claims and responses that have been filed, the full text of final and binding decisions, in addition to information about the Registry of the Tribunal.

We encourage you to explore our website and please feel free to provide us with your feedback at claims.revendications@sct-trp.ca.

Tribunal des revendications particulières Canada

 

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Bienvenue au
Tribunal des revendications particulières Canada.

Avec l’entrée en vigueur de la Avec l’entrée en vigueur de la Loi sur le Service canadien d’appui aux tribunaux administratifs, le 1er novembre 2014, le gouvernement du Canada regroupe la prestation des services d’appui à onze tribunaux administratifs – y compris le Tribunal des revendications particulières – au sein d’une seule organisation, le Service canadien d’appui aux tribunaux administratifs (SCDATA). Ce changement administratif n’a aucune incidence sur le mandat du Tribunal des revendications particulières. Les dossiers continueront d’être déposés, gérés et protégés conformément aux procédures existantes du Tribunal des revendications particulières.

 


 

Le Tribunal des revendications particulières, constitué le 16 octobre 2008, s’inscrit dans la politique « La justice, enfin », soit la politique du gouvernement fédéral établie de concert avec l’Assemblée des Premières Nations pour accélérer le règlement des revendications particulières afin que les Premières Nations revendicatrices obtiennent justice et que le gouvernement, l’industrie et l’ensemble des Canadiens soient fixés.

Pour la première fois dans l’histoire du Canada, les Premières Nations auront le choix de saisir le Tribunal d’une revendication; le Tribunal est un organisme quasi judiciaire indépendant composé d’au plus 6 juges fédéraux à temps plein issus de cours de juridiction supérieure partout au pays.

Le terme « revendications particulières » renvoie d’ordinaire à des revendications visant des dommages pécuniaires présentées par une Première Nation contre Sa Majesté en lien avec l’administration de terre ou d’autres éléments d’actifs des Premières Nations et en lien avec le respect de traités conclus avec les Autochtones, revendications n’ayant pas été acceptées aux fins de négociation ou n’ayant pas été réglées par voie de règlement négocié dans un certain délai.

Le présent site Web renferme des renseignements sur le Tribunal des revendications particulières, ses membres, sa loi habilitante, les revendications et les réponses déposées ainsi que le texte de ses décisions, qui sont définitives et qui lient les parties; on y trouve également des renseignements sur le greffe du Tribunal.

Nous vous invitons à naviguer sur notre site Web, et n’hésitez pas à nous faire part de vos commentaires à l’adresse électronique suivante : claims.revendications@sct-trp.ca.