Specific Claims Tribunal of Canada



Member Appointments

The Tribunal shall consist of no more than six full-time members; or any number of part-time members, or combination of full-time and part-time members, so long as the combined time devoted to their functions and duties does not exceed the combined time that would be devoted by six full-time members.  The Governor in Council shall establish a roster of six to eighteen superior court judges to act as members of the Tribunal.  The Chairperson and other members may be appointed from the roster by the Governor in Council.  Each member shall be appointed for a term not exceeding five years and holds office so long as he or she remains a superior court judge.  Each member, on the expiry of the first term of office, is eligible to be reappointed for one further term. 

Current Members

The Honourable Harry Slade, Chairperson

Justice Slade was admitted to the Bar of British Columbia in 1974.  His primary area of practice as a lawyer was Aboriginal Law.  He has extensive experience in Specific Claims negotiation, including the British Columbia cut-off land claims.  He was active in the litigation of Aboriginal law issues, including representation of national and provincial First Nations organizations on interventions before the Supreme Court of Canada in seminal cases concerned with S. 35, Constitution Act, 1982.  His work included intergovernmental relations among First Nations, Canada and Provinces, including Treaty processes, self-government initiatives, and commercial development of reserve lands.  As a lawyer, Justice Slade also worked with First Nations on ventures in forestry, fishing, and energy resource development.  He practiced law at Ratcliff & Company, a North Vancouver, British Columbia, law firm with an extensive aboriginal and environmental law practice. 

Justice Slade was appointed Queen’s Counsel in 1998 and became a Justice of the British Columbia Supreme Court in March 2001.

The Governor in Council initially appointed Justice Slade to the Specific Claims Tribunal as a Tribunal Member on November 26, 2009. He was appointed Chairperson on December 11, 2010. When Justice Slade volunteered, the Chief Justice of the BC Supreme Court nominated him for reappointments. He has since been re-appointed Chairperson for two consecutive five-year terms, the most recent of which commenced on December 11, 2015.          

The Specific Claims Tribunal adjudicates claims brought by First Nations, including claims related to reserve lands and treaties.

The Honourable Johanne Mainville

Justice Johanne Mainville studied at the University of Montreal in history of art (B.A., 1979) and in law (L.L.B., 1983). She was called to the Bar of Québec in 1984. She practiced as a lawyer in various law firms, and at the time of her appointment to the bench, she was a partner at Gowling, Lafleur, Henderson  LLP.

She was appointed Judge of the Superior Court of Québec on November 22, 2006.

Justice Mainville has an extensive background in aboriginal, constitutional and administrative law. Throughout her career as a lawyer, she was involved in numerous matters involving aboriginal and treaty rights.  These included negotiations concerning the administration of justice in aboriginal communities, the creation of a new forestry regime in Northern Québec and the implementation of treaties.  She also led important litigation involving aboriginal peoples and concerning the implementation of land claims agreements, environmental and social impact processes and constitutional issues.

Justice Mainville was first appointed to the Specific Claims Tribunal on November 27, 2009. Her current appointment to the Tribunal will expire on December 19, 2016.

The Honourable W. Larry Whalen

Justice W. Larry Whalen was appointed to the Superior Court of Ontario in Sault Ste. Marie on May 6, 1992.  As a member of a generalist court, he circuits in the vast territorial Northeast Region of Ontario (comprising Sault Ste. Marie, Sudbury, Gore Bay, Parry Sound, North Bay, Haileybury, Timmins and Cochrane).  He has wide experience in all areas of civil and criminal law.  He serves regularly on the Ontario Divisional Court and has served as an “ad hoc” member of the Ontario Court of Appeal.    

Justice Whalen was born and raised in Sault Ste. Marie.  He graduated with a B.A. (Hon.) in Political Science and Economics from the University of Toronto, and an M.A. in Canadian Studies (focusing on Canadian constitutional issues) from Carleton University.  He completed his LLB in 1973 at the University of Toronto Law School, articled with a large law firm in Toronto and was called to the Ontario bar in 1974.  As a practitioner, Justice Whalen specialized in litigation, including civil litigation and family law.  For the last 8 years of his legal career he was also a special federal prosecutor.    

Justice Whalen served for eight years (until 2008) as a director of the Canadian Superior Court Judges Association, where he acted as chair of the Members’ Advisory Committee and founding chair of the Technology Committee.  He is a founding and current director of the Canadian Centre for Court Technology, where he serves as chair of the Governance Committee. In 2010 he was also co-chair of the Centre’s 2010 “Forum on Technology” Conference and at the Centre’s recent “Forum 2012” he moderated a panel on eTrials. He is currently a member of the Chief Justice’s Information Technology Advisory Committee and of the Ontario Joint Courts IT Committee. 

In December 2012, Justice Whalen was appointed to a four-year term as a part time member of the Specific Claims Tribunal.

The Honourable William G. E. Grist

Justice William Grist studied at the University of British Columbia and completed a Bachelors of Commerce in 1973 and LLB in 1974. He was called to the Bar of British Columbia in June of 1975 and articled at Griffith Mclelland & Company. From 1976-78, Justice Grist was employed at the British Columbia Legal Aid Society. Justice Grist was a partner at the law firm Rempel Kaye & Company in Chilliwack, British Columbia from 1980-89.

Justice Grist was appointed a British Columbia Supreme Court Master in January of 1990 and was later appointed to the British Columbia Supreme Court in June 1996.

Currently, Justice Grist is a Supernumerary Judge at the British Columbia Supreme Court in Chilliwack, British Columbia. He was appointed to the Specific Claims Tribunal for a term of two years on May 18, 2016.

The Honourable Barry G.A. MacDougall

Justice Barry MacDougall was appointed to the Ontario Superior Court of Justice in Peterborough on March 21, 1995. He holds a Bachelor of Arts degree from the University of Toronto (1964) and completed his Bachelor of Laws degree at the University of Toronto in 1967. Justice MacDougall articled with a law firm in Toronto and in 1969 was admitted to the Ontario Bar with Honours.

Justice MacDougall was born and raised in Timmins and on being called to the Bar, he practised law in Peterborough. Throughout his extensive career, Justice MacDougall has taught evening law courses for the Peterborough Public Board of Education and developed and hosted a weekly television program, “The Law – Issues and Answers”, presenting programs on Real Estate, Wills, Landlord and Tenant rights, Family Law, Criminal Law, etc.

He served on many volunteer Boards including serving as Campaign Chairmen and President of the United Way, a founding director of a Non-Profit Housing project for women in Peterborough and as Vice President of the Greater Peterborough Economic Council.  He was appointed to the Mental Health Review Board where he served a 5 year term. He also has served two terms as Director of the Ontario Superior Court Judges Association and was on the Canadian Superior Court Judges Association’s council for 3 terms. From 2010-2011 Justice MacDougall was approved for a Judicial Study Leave at the University of British Columbia Law School where, among other things, he conducted reviews of published works on cross-cultural mediation.

Justice MacDougall was appointed to the Specific Claims Tribunal on May 18, 2016. His appointment ends July 31, 2017.

The Honourable Paul Mayer

Paul Mayer was named a judge of the superior court in June 2008.

He graduated with a B.A. (honours) in history from Trent University in 1979, a B.C.L. and LL.B. from McGill University in 1983 and a doctorate in international and community law from the faculty of law and political science of Aix-Marseilles in 1985.

Admitted to the Quebec Bar in 1986, he practiced law with Lafleur, Brown, de Grandpré from 1986 to 1987, and with Fasken Martineau from 1988 to 2008.  He became a partner in 1997.  He specialized in real estate law.

He taught a course on commercial leases at the faculties of law of University of Montreal (1993) and McGill University (1995-1999).

He was recognized as a first-rank practitioner of commercial lease law with the mention “repeatedly recommended” by the Canadian legal directory, l’Expert.

He was also active in the area of real estate brokerage, having acted as the secretary of the Quebec Real Estate Brokers and Agents Association (OACIQ) from 1991 to 1994.  He was also the chairman of the Board of the real estate brokerage indemnity fund from 2005 to 2008.

In November 2006, he was appointed the Senior Ministerial Representative of the Federal Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development with respect to the issue of Nunavut devolution.  The Mayer Report on this topic was published in June 2007.  He continued to act in this matter until his appointment to the bench.

In May 2016, Justice Mayer was appointed to a two-year term as a part time member of the Specific Claims Tribunal.


Former Members


The Honourable Patrick Smith

Justice Patrick Smith, a Superior Court of Ontario Judge, was first appointed to the Specific Claims Tribunal on November 27, 2009, for a one-year term.  He was re‑appointed on November 27, 2010 for a two-year term.

Justice Smith was appointed to the Superior Court of Ontario (Thunder Bay, Ontario) in October 2001.  He has extensive experience in criminal and complex civil litigation with a special interest in alternate dispute resolution and mediation.  He has been extensively involved for several years in the education of lawyers and judges, is a member of the Superior Court of Ontario Judicial Education Committee, a faculty member of the National Judicial Institute and past instructor at the Ontario Bar Admission Programme.

The Honorable Jocelyn Geoffroy

Justice Jocelyn Geoffroy has a master’s degree in business administration, a Bachelor of Laws as well as a Bachelor of Arts from the University of Ottawa. Called to the Bar in 1984, he first acted as Senior General Counsel at the Fédération des caisses populaires Desjardins in Abitibi. He practised as a lawyer from 1987 to 2008 with the firm of Geoffroy Matte et Associés, with offices in Abitibi-Témiscamingue, in the Outaouais region and in North Bay in northern Ontario.

In nearly 25 years of practice, Justice Geoffroy specialized in civil law, property law, corporate law, commercial law, insurance law and aboriginal law litigation. He was appointed to the Superior Court of Quebec on February 20, 2008.

His involvement in the Amos region has included service as Bâtonnier in 2001-2002, President of the Chamber of Commerce in 1994-1995 and President of the Community Residential Centre. He was also an administrator of various health care institutions and development organizations.

Originally from Parent, Justice Geoffroy regularly presides in courts in the districts of Abitibi, Rouyn-Noranda and Témiscamingue.

The Honourable Jocelyn Geoffroy was appointed to the Specific Claims Tribunal on December 20, 2011, for a one-year term.

Tribunal des revendications particulières Canada

 

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Membres

Nomination des membres

Le Tribunal est formé soit d’au plus six membres à temps plein, soit de membres à temps partiel, ou d’une combinaison de membres à temps plein et à temps partiel, pourvu que le temps qu’ils consacrent ensemble à l’exercice de leurs fonctions n’excède pas celui qu’y consacreraient six membres à temps plein. Le gouverneur en conseil établit une liste de six à dix­huit juges de juridiction supérieure qui peuvent être nommés membres du Tribunal. Le gouverneur en conseil choisit le président et les autres membres du Tribunal parmi les juges figurant sur la liste. La durée maximale du mandat des membres est de cinq ans et ceux-ci occupent leur poste aussi longtemps qu’ils demeurent juges d’une juridiction supérieure. Le mandat des membres est renouvelable une seule fois.

Les membres actuels

L’honorable Harry Slade, c.r., Président

Le juge Slade a été admis au barreau de la Colombie‑Britannique en 1974. En tant qu’avocat, il pratiquait principalement en droit autochtone. Il possède une vaste expérience dans la négociation de revendications particulières, y compris en matière de revendications ayant trait aux terres retranchées des réserves en Colombie-Britannique. Il a participé activement aux litiges portant sur des questions de droit autochtone, notamment en représentant les Premières Nations nationales et provinciales dans le cadre d’interventions devant la Cour suprême du Canada dans des arrêts de principe portant sur l’article 35 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982. À titre d’acteur dans les relations intergouvernementales entre les premières nations, le fédéral et les provinces, il a notamment participé à des processus liés aux traités, à des initiatives en matière d’autonomie gouvernementale et au développement commercial de terres de réserve. En qualité d’avocat, le juge Slade a également travaillé de concert avec des Premières nations afin de développer des entreprises dans les secteurs de la forêt, de la pêche et des ressources énergétiques. Il a pratiqué le droit chez Ratcliff and Company, un cabinet d’avocats de North Vancouver, en Colombie-Britannique, spécialisé en droit autochtone et en droit de l’environnement. 

Le juge Slade a d’abord été nommé membre du Tribunal des revendications particulières par le gouverneur en conseil le 26 novembre 2009. Il a été nommé président le 11 décembre 2010. Lorsque le juge Slade s’est porté volontaire, le juge en chef de la Cour suprême de la Colombie Britannique a annoncé le renouvellement de sa nomination. Depuis, le juge Slade a été de nouveau nommé président pour deux mandats de cinq ans consécutifs, dont le plus récent a commencé le 11 décembre 2015.                

Le Tribunal des revendications particulières se prononce sur des revendications présentées par les Premières nations, notamment des revendications liées à des terres de réserve et à des traités.

L’honorable W. Larry Whalen 

Le juge W. Larry Whalen a été nommé à la Cour supérieure de l’Ontario à Sault Ste. Marie le 6 mai 1992.  Siégeant au sein d’une cour généraliste, il parcourt le vaste territoire de la région du Nord‑Est de l’Ontario (comprenant les villes de Sault Ste. Marie, Sudbury, Gore Bay, Parry Sound, North Bay, Haileybury, Timmins et Cochrane).  Il possède une grande expérience dans tous les domaines du droit civil et criminel.  Il siège régulièrement à la Cour divisionnaire de l’Ontario et a déjà siégé comme juge suppléant à la Cour d’appel de l’Ontario.    

Le juge Whalen est né à Sault Ste. Marie où il a grandi.  Il a obtenu avec mention un baccalauréat en sciences politiques et en économie de l’Université de Toronto, et il détient une maîtrise en études canadiennes (spécialisée en questions constitutionnelles canadiennes) de l’Université Carleton.  Il a obtenu son baccalauréat en droit en 1973 à l’Université de Toronto. Il a fait son stage dans un grand cabinet d’avocats de Toronto et a été admis au barreau de l’Ontario en 1974. En tant qu’avocat, le juge Whalen s’est spécialisé dans les litiges, notamment en matière civile et en droit de la famille.  Pendant les huit dernières années de sa carrière, il a également été procureur fédéral spécial.   

Le juge Whalen a occupé pendant huit ans (jusqu’en 2008) le poste de directeur de l’Association canadienne des juges des cours supérieures, assumant les fonctions de président du comité consultatif des membres et de président fondateur du comité des technologies de l’information.  Il est membre fondateur et directeur du Centre canadien de technologie judiciaire, où il est président du comité de gouvernance. En 2010, il a coprésidé la conférence « Forum on Technology » organisée par le Centre et lors du récent « Forum 2012 » du Centre, il a animé un groupe de discussion sur les procès électroniques.  Il siège actuellement au Comité consultatif des technologies de l’information présidé par le juge en chef, ainsi qu’au Comité conjoint des technologies de l’information des tribunaux ontariens. 

En décembre 2016, le juge Whalen a été nommé de nouveau membre à temps partiel du Tribunal des revendications particulières pour un mandat se terminant le 1er avril 2019.

L'honorable William G. E. Grist

Le juge William Grist a étudié à l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique où il a obtenu un baccalauréat en commerce en 1973 et un baccalauréat en droit en 1974. Il a été admis au Barreau de la Colombie-Britannique en juin 1975 et a fait un stage chez Griffith Mclelland & Company. De 1976 à 1978, le juge Grist a travaillé à la Legal Aid Society of British Columbia. Il a été associé au cabinet d’avocats Rempel Kaye & Company à Chilliwack, en Colombie-Britannique, de 1980 à 1989.

En janvier 1990, le juge Grist a été nommé conseiller-maître à la Cour suprême de la Colombie‑Britannique où il a été par la suite nommé juge en juin 1996.

Actuellement, le juge Grist est juge surnuméraire à la Cour suprême de la Colombie-Britannique, à Chilliwack. Il a été nommé au Tribunal des revendications particulières le 18 mai 2016 pour un mandat de deux ans.

L'honorable Barry G.A. MacDougall

Le juge Barry MacDougall a été nommé à la Cour supérieure de justice de l’Ontario à Peterborough le 21 mars 1995. Il est titulaire d’un baccalauréat ès arts de l’Université de Toronto (1964) et a obtenu son baccalauréat en droit de l’Université de Toronto en 1967. Le juge MacDougall a fait un stage dans un cabinet d’avocats à Toronto et, en 1969, il a été admis au Barreau de l’Ontario avec distinction.

Le juge MacDougall est né et a grandi à Timmins et, une fois admis au barreau, il a pratiqué le droit à Peterborough. Tout au long de sa longue carrière, il a enseigné le droit en cours du soir pour le Peterborough Public Board of Education et a créé et animé un programme télévisé hebdomadaire : « The Law – Issues and Answers », au cours duquel il faisait des présentations sur le droit immobilier, les testaments, les droits des propriétaires et des locataires, le droit de la famille, le droit pénal, etc.

Il a siégé à bon nombre de conseils à titre bénévole, notamment il a été président de campagne de financement pour Centraide et président de Centraide, directeur fondateur d’un programme de logement sans but lucratif destiné aux femmes à Peterborough et vice-président du Conseil économique du grand Peterborough. Il a été nommé au Mental Health Review Board pour un mandat de cinq ans. Il a aussi exercé deux mandats en tant que directeur de l’Association des juges des cours supérieures de l’Ontario et a siégé au conseil de l’Association canadienne des juges des cours supérieures pendant trois mandats. À partir de 2010‑2011, le juge MacDougall a obtenu un congé d’études à l’intention des juges à la faculté de droit de l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique où, entre autres choses, il a effectué des examens de travaux publiés sur la médiation interculturelle.

Le juge MacDougall a été nommé au Tribunal des revendications particulières le 18 mai 2016. Sa nomination prendra fin le 31 juillet 2017.

L'honorable Paul Mayer

Paul Mayer est un diplômé B.A. « Honours » en histoire de l’Université Trent (1979), B.C.L. et L.L.B. de la Faculté de droit de l’Université McGill (1983) et un Doctorat en droit des relations internationales et communautaires de la Faculté de droit et de science politique d’Aix-Marseille (1985).

Membre du Barreau en 1986, il a été avocat chez Lafleur, Brown, de Grandpré (1986-1987), avocat chez Martineau Walker (1988-1997) et associé principal chez Fasken Martineau DuMoulin, s.e.n.c.r.l., s.r.l. de 1997 à 2008.

Il s’est spécialisé en droit immobilier, plus particulièrement dans deux domaines : la location commerciale et la vente, l’achat et l’aménagement d’immeubles à usage commercial.

Il a été chargé de cours dans le domaine des baux commerciaux à la Faculté de droit de l’Université de Montréal (1993) et à celle de l’Université McGill (1995-1999).

Il a été reconnu comme praticien de premier rang avec la mention « repeatedly recommended  » dans la catégorie de la location immobilière par le répertoire juridique canadien L’EXPERT.

Il a été actif dans le domaine du courtage immobilier, ayant agi à titre de secrétaire de l’Association des courtiers et agents immobiliers du Québec (ACAIQ) au cours de ses premières années d’existence (1991-1994). Il a également été président du conseil d’administration du Fonds d’Indemnisation du Courtage Immobilier (FICI) (2005-2008).

En novembre 2006, il a été nommé représentant spécial du ministre des Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada pour le transfert des responsabilités au Nunavut. Le rapport Mayer sur le transfert des responsabilités au Nunavut a été publié en juin 2007.

En juin 2008, il a été nommé à la Cour supérieure du Québec.

En mai 2016, le juge Mayer a été nommé, pour un mandat de deux ans, membre à temps partiel du Tribunal des revendications particulières.

Les anciens membres

L’honorable juge Mainville

La juge Johanne Mainville a étudié l’histoire de l’art et le droit à l’Université de Montréal (baccalauréats respectivement obtenus en 1979 et en 1983). Elle a été admise au barreau du Québec en 1984. Elle a pratiqué le droit dans divers cabinets d’avocats et, avant d’être nommée à la magistrature, elle était associée chez Gowling, Lafleur, Henderson S.E.N.C.R.L., s.r.l.

Elle a été nommée juge à la Cour supérieure du Québec le 22 novembre 2006.

La juge Mainville possède une vaste expérience en droit autochtone, en droit constitutionnel et en droit administratif. Au cours de sa carrière, elle s’est occupée de nombreux dossiers touchant les droits des autochtones et les droits issus de traités. Elle a notamment participé à des négociations concernant l’administration de la justice au sein des collectivités autochtones, à la création d’un nouveau régime en matière de foresterie dans le Nord du Québec et à la mise en œuvre de traités. Elle a aussi été chargée d’importants litiges impliquant des peuples autochtones et liés à la mise en œuvre d’accords sur des revendications territoriales, à des processus environnementaux et sociaux ainsi qu’à des questions constitutionnelles.

La juge Mainville a initialement été nommée membre du Tribunal des revendications particulières le 27 novembre 2009. Son mandat au Tribunal a pris fin le 19 décembre 2016.

L’honorable Patrick Smith

L’honorable Patrick Smith, juge à la Cour supérieure de justice de l’Ontario, a été initialement nommé membre du Tribunal des revendications particulières le 27 novembre 2009 pour un mandat d’un an. Il a été nommé de nouveau membre le 27 novembre 2010 pour un mandat de deux ans.

Le juge Smith a été nommé à la Cour supérieure de justice de l’Ontario (Thunder Bay) en octobre 2001. Il possède une vaste expérience en droit criminel et dans le domaine des affaires civiles complexes; il s’intéresse particulièrement aux modes alternatifs de résolution des conflits et à la médiation. Il a participé activement pendant plusieurs années à la formation des avocats et des juges; il est membre du Comité de formation des juges de la Cour supérieure de justice de l’Ontario; il est membre du corps professoral de l’Institut national de la magistrature et il a déjà été formateur dans le cadre du programme d’admission du barreau de l’Ontario.

L’honorable Jocelyn Geoffroy

Le juge Jocelyn Geoffroy détient une maîtrise en administration des affaires, un baccalauréat en droit et un baccalauréat ès arts de l'Université d'Ottawa. Reçu au Barreau en 1984, il a d'abord agi comme directeur du contentieux à la Fédération des caisses populaires Desjardins de l'Abitibi. Il a exercé le droit de1987 à 2008 au sein du cabinet Geoffroy Matte et associés, avec des bureaux en Abitibi-Témiscamingue, en Outaouais et à Northbay au Nord de l’Ontario.

En près de 25 ans de pratique, le juge Geoffroy s'est spécialisé dans les litiges relatifs au droit civil, droit des biens, droit des sociétés, droit commercial, droit des assurances et le droit applicable aux Autochtones. Il a été nommé à la Cour supérieure du Québec le 20 février 2008.

Parmi ses implications dans la région d’Amos, soulignons qu'il a été Bâtonnier en 2001-2002, président de la Chambre de commerce en 1994-1995 et président du Centre résidentiel communautaire. Il a aussi été administrateur de différents établissements de santé et d'organismes de développement.

Natif de Parent, le juge Geoffroy siège régulièrement dans les districts de l’Abitibi, Rouyn-Noranda et Témiscamingue.

L’honorable Jocelyn Geoffroy a été nommé au Tribunal des revendications particulières le 20 décembre 2011 pour un mandat d’un an.